Reviews for the 2014 Summer Reading Program


147 reviews available
Get it from the Library
Review
I've read Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson series, so I expected this book to be just as good or even better, but I don't think it was. I was kind of disappointed. I liked the length, but I felt it was pretty slow.   Get it from the Library
Title
The Lost Hero
Author
Rick Riordan
Genre
Fantasy
Rating
Date Posted
8/2/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
2 of 5 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
In The Perks of Being A Wallflower, freshman Charlie learns the true meaning of friendship, and the goods and bads of being in high school. Charlie is a loner to start off the story, but upon meeting Sam and Patrick, two erratic seniors, his whole high school image changes. Good story and plot. I'd recommend it to anybody who's scared to try something new.  Get it from the Library
Title
The Perks of Being A Wallflower
Author
Steven Chbosky
Genre
General Fiction
Rating
Date Posted
7/30/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
4 of 4 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
This story follows the life of a man with a dark and twisted secret. A memory of something so disturbing that he tries to forget it by releasing his anxieties and emotions through paintings depicting dark and adventurous scenes. I enjoyed this book because I love horror. I would not recommend this to anyone who does not enjoy disturbing depictions.. However, if you love dark and twisted tales, and you're either an adult, or you're mature enough to appreciate the story and not let it haunt you, I would highly recommend this book for you.  Get it from the Library
Title
The Painted Darkness
Author
Brian James Freeman
Genre
Horror
ISBN
9781587672088
Rating
Date Posted
7/23/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
2 of 2 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
This illustrated story follows the life of a girl with OCD, but not the clean-everything sort of OCD. The main character is obsessed with her understanding of herself as a 'bad' person. She becomes overwhelmed by violent and almost homicidal thoughts as she navigates through her life while trying to keep a grip with reality. I enjoyed reading this because it becomes very emotional as you start to get immersed in this girl's life, seeing how she deals with these terrible thoughts while remaining calm on the outside. I would recommend this book to any mature person who has experienced emotional issues, and enjoys illustrated, emotional stories.  Get it from the Library
Title
The Nao of Brown
Author
Glyn Dillon
Genre
Manga or Comic Book
ISBN
9781906838423
Rating
Date Posted
7/23/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
3 of 4 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
Lucky has always been a Lone Dog, living alone, not depending on anyone or having anyone depend on him. He doesn't need a Pack like other dogs. But when the Big Growl strikes, all the longpaws disappear, and his world completely changes. He finds himself in charge of a strange pack of Leashed Dogs, including his littermate, Bella. Can he and his inexperienced pack survive in a cruel and dangerous world? From the author of the Warrior Cats series, Erin Hunter brings you a heart-pounding adventure about dogs.  Get it from the Library
Title
Survivors: The Empty City
Author
Erin Hunter
Genre
Fantasy
ISBN
978-0-06-210256-0
Rating
Date Posted
7/23/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
Get it from the Library
Review
This book is about Christy and Todd in their married years and their struggles with money and not spending enough time with each other. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has read the Christy Miller series or likes christian fiction romance novels.  Get it from the Library
Title
Forever With You
Author
Robin Jones Gunn
Genre
Christian
ISBN
9780982877210
Rating
Date Posted
7/21/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
Get it from the Library
Review
I like Ramona the Brave a lot. However, it didn't win me over to like it more than Beezus and Ramona. There is a tie for fist place between those two books. I think Beverly Cleary is a very talented author!  Get it from the Library
Title
Ramona the Brave
Author
Beverly Cleary
Genre
General Fiction
ISBN
0688220150
Rating
Date Posted
7/21/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
0 of 1 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
This book is perfect for where we live. It is all about a tornado that destroys a town and a high school students challenge to overcome its damages. The best part... it is based off of the Joplin tornado. I would definitely recommend this book for anyone.   Get it from the Library
Title
Torn Away
Author
Jennifer Brown
Genre
General Fiction
ISBN
9780316245531
Rating
Date Posted
7/14/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
3 of 3 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
This is about Cinder, and she's not your typical teenage girl. In fact she isn't really a girl at all, she is a cyborg, part human part robot. But when the prince himself comes to her she will realize she is so much more than anyone thought. This futuristic spin off of Cinderella is SUPER good!  Get it from the Library
Title
Cinder
Author
Marissa Meyer
Genre
Science Fiction
Rating
Date Posted
7/11/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
4 of 5 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
Kyla doesn't know who she is....or rather who she was. She has been Slated, all her memories wiped away, to give her a second chance, but from what? And who can she trust with her memory gone? This book is filled with mystery and action from the first page and on!   Get it from the Library
Title
Slated
Author
Teri Terry
Genre
General Fiction
Rating
Date Posted
7/11/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
5 of 5 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
I really liked this book. It was a little bit slow in the beginning but it was really cool a little ways into it. Nzingha is a girl who hates the Portuguese and wants to rid her home of them. I recommend this book for tweens. Read this book and find out what she does to get what she wants.   Get it from the Library
Title
Nzingha Warrior Queen of Matamba
Author
Pat McKissack
Genre
General Fiction
Rating
Date Posted
7/10/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
2 of 2 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
The Time Machine was a very short book. Most of the action takes place near the middle of the story. I didn't find the book enthralling but it was pleasant to read.  Get it from the Library
Title
The Time Machine
Author
H. G. Wells
Genre
Science Fiction
ISBN
9780553213515
Rating
Date Posted
7/10/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
Get it from the Library
Review
Bewitching is a intriguing story about how a witch wants to help people with thier lives it also has a twist to some classic fairy tales. It also has some humor. This book is a story that I was not able to put down for two whole days.  Get it from the Library
Title
Bewitching
Genre
Fantasy
Rating
Date Posted
7/8/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
5 of 5 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
See you at Harry's is a touching story about a girl who is trying to overcome a traject death. Its a story that makes you start crying, but later on the book isn't so sad.  Get it from the Library
Title
See You at Harry's
Author
Jo Knowles
Genre
General Fiction
ISBN
9780763654078
Rating
Date Posted
7/5/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
1 of 1 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
Tuck Everlasting is a classic, if not sad at some points. This one is set back to 1880, in the USA somewhere. It is not like other classics, no hopeless romance, more trying to survive... forever!  Get it from the Library
Title
Tuck Everlasting
Author
Natalie Babbitt
Genre
Fantasy
ISBN
0312369816
Rating
Date Posted
7/5/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
26 of 73 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
Lara's Gift was everything i had hoped for. As an added bonus, it is set back to 1914 in Russia, so you learn a little too. I really recommend for summer reading.  Get it from the Library
Title
Lara's Gift
Author
Annemarie O'Brien
Genre
Fantasy
ISBN
9780307931740
Rating
Date Posted
7/5/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
4 of 4 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
This book is very good.. a gothic teen who falls in love with a vampire and the love and passion just gives me the urge to keep reading.. i definitely suggest this book  Get it from the Library
Title
Vampire Kisses
Author
Ellen Schreiber
Genre
Romance
ISBN
9780061778940
Rating
Date Posted
7/4/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
1 of 7 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
This book is full of mystery and intrigue. This book keep you on the edge of your seat! It is a story of courage, bravery, and danger. Four unlikely orphans given an important mission to save the world from a horrible fate. Read this book to find out what happens.   Get it from the Library
Title
The Mysterious Benedict Society
Author
Trent Lee Stewart
Genre
General Fiction
ISBN
9780316057776
Rating
Date Posted
7/3/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
20 of 23 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
This book is AMAZING!!! At first I was skeptical, but when I got into it it was full of action and adventure. This book is for people who like Pirates.   Get it from the Library
Title
The Treasure of Savage Island
Author
Lenore Hart
Genre
General Fiction
ISBN
9780525470922
Rating
Date Posted
7/3/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
4 of 40 found this review helpful
Get it from the Library
Review
this is about a city boy named Brian who is going to visit his father in northern Canada for the summer.When unexpectedly his plane crash lands in the wilderness. Brian is all alone with no tools but a hatchet. Will he survive the wild by himself? Will he ever get rescued?  Get it from the Library
Title
Hatchet
Author
Gary Paulsen
Genre
General Fiction
ISBN
0689840926
Rating
Date Posted
7/2/2014
Was this review helpful?
   
6 of 6 found this review helpful
147 reviews available